Round tables

New this year were the round tables. These were additional concurrent sessions, with a different setup. We had an open discussion with researchers, policy makers and business representatives on several topics. Each round table was organised by one of our sponsors. In this way, we were able to really connect the field of research and business.

During the conference we had the following six round tables:

Round table 1

The Impact of Climate Policy on International Competitiveness

Chair: Foppe de Haan, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate, The Netherlands

Grünfeld, Director, VEMW (Association for Industrial Users of Energy and Water), The Netherlands
Coby van der Linde, Director, Clingendael International Energy Programme (CIEP), The Netherlands
Jante Parleviet, Head of Economic Policy Department DNB (Central Bank), The Netherlands
Alienke Ramaker, Public Affairs, NVDE (Netherlands Association for Renewable Energy), The Netherlands
Peter Zapfel, Head of Unit of the Economic Analysis and Strategy Unit in DG Climate Action, European Commission, Brussels

Round table 2

Disruptive Challenges for the Energy Industry

Gert Brunekreeft, Jacobs University, Bremen, Germany

Christian Arnold, Project manager of “Enera”, EWE Oldenburg, Germany
Angeli Hoekstra, Partner Energy & Technology PWC, The Netherlands
Alain Janssens, Director Regulatory Oversight & Market Design, Engie / Vice-Chair of the Markets Committee of Eurelectric, Belgium
Edwin Poot, President & Chief Visionary Officer, Energyworx, The Netherlands
Jens Strücker, Expert on blockchains in the energy sector, Fresenius University of Applied Sciences, Germany


Round table 3

Market Design of Electricity Markets: Flexibility

Paul Giesbertz, Statkraft, The Netherlands

Kick Bruijn, programma manager Energy Transition, Department of Energy, Netherlands Authority for Consumers & Markets (ACM), The Hague, The Netherlands
Jens Büchner, E-Bridge Consulting, Germany
William Hogan, Raymond Plank Professor of Global Energy Policy, Harvard University, USA
Joachim Schneider, Director Technology and Operations, Innogy, Germany and vice-chair of European Distribution System Operators’ Association (EDSO) for Smart Grids, Brussels, Belgium
Achim Zerres, Head department of Energy, Bundesnetzagentur (BNetzA), Bonn, Germany

Picture by:  Reyer Boxem


Round table 4

Energy Transition: Role of Local Governments

Killian McCarthy, University of Groningen, The Netherlands

Albert Bressand, Professor in International Strategic Management in Energy, University of Groningen/ University College London
Christophe Bonnery, Senior Vice-President Economics & Prospective, ENEDIS, Paris, France.
Mattias Gijsbertsen, Alderman, Municipality of Groningen
Steven Volkers, Grunneger Power, Groningen, The Netherlands

Round table 5

Alternatives for Fossil Fuels

Catrinus Jepma, University of Groningen, The Netherlands

Pieter Boot, Head of Department of Climate, Air and Energy, Netherlands Environmental Assessment Agency, The Hague, The Netherlands
Anton Buijs, Manager Public Affairs, GasTerra, Groningen, The Netherlands
Andris Piebalgs, Former EU Commissioner Energy, Brussels
Dimosthenis Trimis, Head of Institute, Division of Combustion Technology, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Engler-Bunte-Institute, Karlsruhe, Germany
Martien Visser, Gasunie / Hanze University of Applied Science, Groningen, The Netherlands

Round table 6

Sector Coupling – Clean Energy Opportunities and Challenges

Jillis Raadschelders, Principal Consultant Future Energy Markets, DNV GL

Ruud van den Bosch, Technical Sales Manager, Ecovat
Patrick Clerens, Secretary General, European Association for Storage of Energy, Brussels
Alice Elliott, Senior Hydrogen Engineer, Shell New Energy, Amsterdam
Ben Oudman, Director and Regional Manager, DNV GL, Groningen


Conference proceedings

All conference proceedings such as presentations, papers and abstracts, can be found in the online conference proceedings database of the IAEE.